Huw Watkins

Huw Watkins - Credit: Hanya Chlala

Schott Music Ltd

“When by chance we heard Huw Watkins’ new string quartet, with its lyrical chordal structure and rippling textures, we knew we had found the last piece in the jigsaw puzzle.” Krysia Osostowitz

Programme Note:

Huw Watkins – Spring (companion to Beethoven sonata no 5 in F, “Spring”)

“I’m delighted to write a piece inspired by Beethoven’s Spring sonata. I’m a pianist as well as a composer, and the ten Beethoven violin sonatas are pieces I’ve read through and performed with many different violinists countless times. The Spring is perhaps the most famous of all, so it will be a particular challenge to find a way off it to spark the creation of a new, but somehow related piece.”

“Spring, for violin and piano, is intended as a five minute long introduction to Beethoven’s F major violin sonata. It is a reflective piece, taking the distinctive piano figuration from the “Spring” sonata, and treating it in a rather un-Beethovenian way.” Huw Watkins

Related News and Reviews

Wednesday, 04 November 2015  

Contemporary music nowadays covers a wider range of compositional styles than ever before, and this year’s Sound Festival has certainly stepped up to the mark in this respect. In the Music Hall we heard the first in a series of five concerts given by Krysia Osostowicz and Daniel Tong, who will play all ten of Beethoven’s sonatas for violin and piano, each performed along with a new companion piece by a succession of living composers.

(read more…)